Tie in a cavalry countercharge
 Rules Questions    Started by Francesco Guerriero   2017-10-08 15:52:46 +02:00   Comments: 4    Viewed: 60

  1. Francesco Guerriero
    Francesco Guerriero Member Treviso
    A cavalry unit charges an Infantry Battalion that reacts with a countercharge by a friendly cavalry unit that intercepts and contacts the enemy cavalry.
    If neither the friendly cavalry nor the enemy inflicts losses who has to retreat?
    The general rule says that in case of tie, the attacker must retire ... but in this case who is the defender?
    We have supposed that the countercharging cavalry is the reaction of the defender and, as such, benefits from the "tie rule" in combact.
    (besides, the countercharging cavalry can not breakthrough if it wins the countercharge so we considered it as the defender).
    Could anyone help on this?

    Thanks

    Francesco
    (Aquile di Gaeta)
    Francesco Guerriero, 2017-10-08 15:52:46 +02:00
  2. Chas Irving
    Chas Irving Member
    Francesco, we play the same as you describe, that is the attacker is the first cavalry unit that is charging the infantry and the countercharging unit is the defender. As you said the countercharging unot cannot make a breakthrough but it can reorganise.
    Chas Irving, 2017-10-08 21:16:56 +02:00
  3. Ken Jacobsen
    Ken Jacobsen Member
    We play cavalry countercharges the following way:
    1. The player whose turn it is (i.e., the cavalry charging in their phase) is the Attacker.
    2. The counter-charging is the Defender.
    3. Ties go to the Attacker.

    We do this for a couple of reasons: attacking is hard enough, and we think aggressive (not reckless) tactics should be rewarded.
    Ken Jacobsen, 2017-10-11 19:51:41 +02:00
  4. Francesco Guerriero
    Francesco Guerriero Member Treviso
    Thank you gentlemen!
    Francesco Guerriero, 2017-10-12 21:53:13 +02:00
  5. (You must log in or sign up to post here)

Report Post

Write your reason

Log in | Sign up
Tems & Conditions!
Help!