Light cavalry retreat after being defeated by light cavalry
 Rules Questions    Started by Chas Irving   2017-03-01 01:31:00 +01:00   Comments: 4    Viewed: 76

  1. Chas Irving
    Chas Irving Member
    In a recent game, an Austrian light cavalry unit charged a French light cavalry unit. The French unit could not retreat because another French cavalry unit was to close, it could not move through the other friendly French cavalry (see page 41 Moving through friendly units). Also it could not slide 2” past the friendly unit to avoid them.
    Because of this the French player opted to receive the charge. The French unit lost two (2) stands and failed the test to counterattack. So the Austrian cavalry won the combat forcing the French cavalry to retreat but again the retreat was blocked by the friendly unit and it was unable to slide enough (2”) to pass the friendly French cavalry.
    This resulted in the French cavalry being eliminated. Also this allowed the Austrians to make a breakthrough charge with a similar result to the first charge and then the French player failed the force exhaustion test.
    Have we played it correctly?
    Chas Irving, 2017-03-01 01:31:00 +01:00
  2. Quillup
    Quillup Member Colebrook
    HI Chas,

    You are correct, friendly units cannot voluntarily interpenetrate each other. So it is important to position your units in such a way as to allow a unit to fall back when needed.

    However, when forced to retreat for any reason, such as to lose a melee, a unit can interpenetrate friendly units. This is explained in the rule book.

    When a unit is forced to retreat It must continue moving backwards until it clears all friendly units. For each friendly unit it passes through or stops on a DT is needed based upon the Disciliple of the unit being passed through. For each failure of DT a base is removed from the retreating unit. The unit/s being passed through are not effected in any manner.

    It is important when playing nap at war not to stack supporting units to close to the front. You should always be > 6" when at all possible to avoid breakthrough charges which are devastating. This is a good tactic for any napoleonic system as most of them have issues when units are too close to each other. Or they should IMHO.
    Quillup, 2017-03-06 17:08:47 +01:00
  3. Chas Irving
    Chas Irving Member
    Quillup, it happened a again but this time infantry against infantry. But I was unable to find in the rule book where it says a unit can pass through a freindly unit as a result of a retreat caused by combat.
    Chas Irving, 2017-04-15 14:16:07 +02:00
  4. Hey Chris, you found it...be interesting to find what page in the rule book this interpassing rule is located....Quillup help us out man!!!!frown
    Jean-Christophe Devorsine, 2017-04-16 10:48:21 +02:00
  5. (You must log in or sign up to post here)

Report Post

Write your reason

Log in | Sign up
Tems & Conditions!
Help!